Expressions of Interest for Trustees

news logo
  • Monday, 24 January 2022
Expressions of Interest for Trustees


Trustees of Community Trust South are responsible for an investment fund of approximately $260 million and distributing income generated, to benefit communities of Southland, Wakatipu Basin, Tapanui and Heriot.


The present Trustees are: Mata Cherrington (Bluff), Bill Moran (Queenstown), David Goble (Invercargill), Stephen Canny (Invercargill), Kirsty Pickett (Te Anau), Melanie Montgomery (Winton), Leanne Samuel (Invercargill), Leon Hartnett (Invercargill) and our Mana Whenua endorsed Trustee Louise Fowler (Bluff).


Michael Wilson (Invercargill) retired from the Trust in October 2021.


The Minister of Finance has responsibility for appointing Trustees and invites Community Trust South to put forward nominations of suitable people to be considered for appointment as a Trustee. As well as seeking nominations from the Trust, the Minister can also receive nominations directly from any other interested people. To assist the Minister to identify suitable people for consideration, expressions of interest on a confidential basis are welcomed from people in the Community Trust South region.


The Minister takes into consideration several factors when making appointments, including:

  • Balance of skills and legal and financial expertise required by Community Trust South
  • Ensuring appropriate diversity among Trustees so that the communities needs are properly represented, including having sufficient Trustees who whakapapa Māori
  • Conflicts of interest (if any)
  • Geographic spread
  • Knowledge of the community, social sector and governance

All expressions of interest remain confidential to the Trust and will be sent to the Minister of Finance for consideration. Information packs and the online application form can be found here or email for the application link.

If you have any questions please contact us on - 0800 500 185

Expressions of interest close at 5pm on Monday 7 March 2022


Jackie Flutey,

General Manager