New trustees appointed to Community Trust South Board

news logo
  • Wednesday, 26 August 2020

Kirsty Pickett and Louise Fowler have been appointed as trustees of Community Trust South, Chair Trish Boyle announced today.
“Kirsty Pickett and Louise Fowler have been appointed with effect from 7 September 2020. They have replaced Penny Simmonds and Richard Wason.”
The trustee appointments are made by the Minister of Finance, after receiving nominations from the Trust and from a range of other organisations and individuals within the Trust’s region.  Louise Fowler is endorsed by the Papatiu Runanga of Murihiku as the Manawhenua endorsed trustee. 
General Manager Jackie Flutey says “We are particularly pleased that the Minister has appointed the Manawhenua endorsed Trustee, as this role provides a strong connection between the Trust and the Runanga of Murihiku to support the Trusts commitment to the Te Tiriti o Waitangi principle of partnership.”
The new trustees’ appointment will bring an excellent blend of skills and experiences to the Trust.  The appointments are for an initial term of four years ending in May 2024.
Penny Simmonds and Richard Wason have both been on the board for eight years with Penny serving as Chair for the last year.
“Penny and Richard have made significant contributions to the Trust over the years.  The leadership and direction, which came from their combined community, financial and cultural knowledge, has been greatly appreciated.
We now welcome our new appointees to the Trust and look forward with anticipation to the skills and contribution they will bring to the future of the board.” Trish Boyle said.
The 10 Community Trust South trustees are:
Trish Boyle – Chair
Lindsay Wright – Deputy Chair
David Goble
Mata Cherrington
Michael Wilson
Stephen Canny
Bill Moran
John Wyeth
Louise Fowler
Kirsty Pickett