Hero Deep Cove Story v2

Our Area


We provide funding throughout the south covering Southland, Queenstown, Glenorchy, Arrowtown, Tapanui and Heriot areas.

We can only consider applications from organisations or for projects outside of this area if there is a very clear and demonstrated benefit for our people and our communities.

Interactive Area Map

Invercargill: Invercargill, Makarewa, Myross Bush, Otatara, Tisbury, West Plains, Woodend

Bluff: Bluff, Greenhills, Tiwai Point, Waituna

Browns, Dipton, Drummond, Hedgehope, Limehills, Ryal Bush, Te Tipua, Waianiwa, Wallacetown, Winton
Athol, Balfour, Garston, Lumsden, Mossburn, Riversdale, Waikaia, Wendonside
Charlton, Chatton, Gore, Kaiwera, Knapdale, Mandeville, Mataura Otama, Pukerau, Tuturau, Waikaka, Waimumu, Waitane
Dacre, Edendale, Fortrose, Gorge Road, Mokoreta, Niagara, Rimu, Seaward Downs, Toetoes, Tokanui, Waikawa, Waimahaka, Waimatua, Waituna, Woodlands, Wyndham
Blackmount, Colac Bay, Fairfax, Hauroko, Isla Bank, Nightcaps, Ohai, Orepuki, Otautau, Riverton, Te Waewae, Thornbury, Tuatapere, Waiau, Wairio, Wreys Bush
Manapouri, Maroroa, Milford, Monowai, Te Anau, The Key
Arrowtown, Arthurs Point, Fernhill, Frankton, Gibbston, Glenorchy, Kingston, Jacks Point, Kelvin Heights, Lakes Hayes, Paradise, Quail Rise, Queenstown Central, Shotover Country, Sunshine Bay
Crookston, Edievale, Heriot, Stirling, Tapanui, Waipahi, Waikoikoi

Detailed Area Description

Detailed area description

The newly adjusted boundary creates the following specified area for Community Trust South:

Invercargill City, Southland District, Gore District, the Queenstown Ward of Queenstown-Lakes District, plus

That part of West Otago Ward of Clutha District which is :-

West of a line commencing at a point in the Rankle Burn, on the eastern boundary of the Ward, at NZTM 1319150mE 4905174mN; thence north by right line to the south-west corner of Lot B DP 1845 (Otago); thence north-east and north along the south-eastern and eastern boundaries of Block XIV Crookston Survey District to the south-eastern corner of Part Section 8 of the said Block XIV; thence north-westerly by right line through Trig O in Block VI Crookston Survey District and the production of that line to its intersection with the northern boundary of Section 57 Block VI Benger Survey District, a point on the northern boundary of the said Ward. And South of a line commencing at a point in the Pomahaka River, on the north-eastern boundary of the Ward, at NZTM 1302196mE 4936982mN; thence south-westerly along the middle line of the Pomahaka River to a point at NZTM 1299453mE 4934407mN; thence northerly by right line to a point on the southern boundary of Run 609 at NZTM 1299419mE 4934487mN; thence generally north-westerly along the generally south-westerly boundary of Run 609 to a point at NZTM 1293370mE 4940085mN; thence due west by right line to its intersection with the eastern boundary of Southland District.

That part of Clinton Ward of Clutha District which is :-

North of a line commencing at a point in the Waipahi River at NZTM 1301265mE 4882278mN thence by right line to a point on the northern boundary of Lot 2 DP 22284 (Otago) at NZTM 1303143mE 4882623mN; thence easterly and south-easterly along the northern boundary of the said Lot 2 to its eastern-most corner; thence north to the northernmost point of Lot 1 DP 332243 (Otago); thence south-easterly along the north-eastern boundaries of the said Lot 1, Section 19 Block XVI Waipahi Survey District and Lot 4 DP 332243 to the easternmost point of the said Lot 4; thence by right line to a point on the middle line of Waipahi Station Road at NZTM 1308288mE 4880581mN; thence generally north-easterly along the middle line of the said Road to a point in line with the south-western boundary of Section 23 Block VI Waipahi Survey District; thence by right line to the south-western corner of Section 6 Block VI Waipahi Survey District; thence north and east along the west and north boundaries of the said Section 6 to its north-eastern corner; thence east along the north boundary of Section 29 Block VI Waipahi Survey District to its north-eastern corner; thence north-easterly by right line to a point on the Clinton Ward boundary at NZTM 1311957mE 4882767mN.

 To better understand the new boundary please have a look at the maps below.

Boundary Adjustment


Community Trust South and Otago Community Trust have confirmed an alteration to their common boundary, which is the northern boundary of Community Trust South.

Community Trust South have received approval from the Minister of Finance to adjust the boundary of the region within which the Trust provides charitable assistance.

The boundary adjustment extends the Community Trust South area to include the portion of the Southland District up to Awarua Point in the north west and extend the area within Queenstown-Lakes District to include the whole of the Queenstown Ward area. The new boundary will then follow the current District and Ward boundaries between Awarua Point and Roaring Meg Creek.  Minor adjustments to the boundary will also be made to align it with the current district and ward boundaries.



The specified area of a Trust is the geographic area within which the Trust focusses its funding support.  The specified areas of each Trust were set when the Trusts were established in 1988 and were reflective of the operating area of each of the predecessor Trustee Savings Banks at that time.

The adjustment does not include any transfer of funds between the two trusts, as the number of usually resident population in the area is not significant.