New trustee appointed to Community Trust South Board

Aimee Kaio Trustee
  • Friday, 21 October 2022

Aimee Kaio has been appointed as trustee of Community Trust South with effect from 31 October 2022, Heamana/Chair Bill Moran announced today.

The trustee appointments are made by the Minister of Finance, after receiving nominations from the Trust and from a range of other organisations and individuals within the Trust’s region.

Aimee is part of the Ngāi Tahu Regional Investment Team, working with Papatipu Runaka of Ngāi Tahu to support their investment and intergenerational wealth aspirations.  Aimee’s career has predominantly been in hapū, iwi and regional development. Aimee is an active member of Awarua Rūnaka and of Murihiku Regeneration and holds a number of Governance roles, Kahui Māori for Deep South Challenge and the Antarctic Science Platform, a Board member of EAT NZ, Board member of COIN South and Co-Chair of Southland Just Transition.

Aimee has a passion for social impact, climate action and entrepreneurship, where she mentors rangatahi and startups in these spaces.

‘I am passionate about Murihiku/Southland, I look forward to contributing to the vision of enabling our Southern region to thrive.” said Aimee Kaio.

The new trustee appointment will bring an excellent blend of community knowledge, understanding and experience to the Trust.  The appointment is for an initial term ending in June 2026.

On behalf of the Community Trust South Board Heamana/Chair Bill Moran said he is looking forward to welcoming Aimee onto the Board.

“Aimee brings expertise and experience that will strengthen the board’s strategic focus and decision-making, both for the short and long term”.

The 8 current Community Trust South trustees are:

Bill Moran – Heamana/Chair
Kirsty Pickett – Heamana Tuarua/Deputy Chair
Stephen Canny
David Goble
Louise Fowler
Melanie Montgomery
Leanne Samuel
Leon Hartnett